2017 Bike More Challenge Awards Party Recap

Last night, The Street Trust and hundreds of Bike More Challengers partied at Oaks Park to celebrate Bike Month and the record-breaking 1,702,974 miles biked by 12,445 participants (including 2,326 new riders!) in the Bike More Challenge, a month-long event encouraging people to pedal wherever they’re going.

The party kicked off with a bike ride from Director Park and down the Springwater Corridor to Oaks Park. At the party, attendees had the chance to mingle with other Challenge participants, indulge in Hopworks beer, Alter Ego Cider, Brew Dr. Kombucha and Nossa Familia coffee, chow down on some Sizzle Pie pizza and Salt & Straw ice cream, and play games.

This year’s raffle prizes were awarded to the following winners:

  • $250 at local outdoor store + pass to WEEKENDER ride: Joshua Reagan
  • 2 passes to WEEKENDER ride: Paul Saurer
  • Bike Friday pakiT folding bike: Alex Cook

Lauren Hugel, Bike More Challenge Program Manager, started off programmed portion of the evening. After sharing the stats of what an amazing turnout we had for this year’s challenge she passed the mic to Tia Sherry, who delivered the most anticipated portion of the evening, the awards! This year’s awards went to:

  • Team with the most points, 500+ staff: OHSU, 309,613 points
  • Team with the most points, 200-499 staff: Puppet, 45,960 points
  • Team with the most points, 50-199 staff: Quantum Spatial, 51,831 points
  • Team with the most points, 20-49 staff: Alta Planning + Design, 25,711 points
  • Team with the most points, 7-19 staff: Portland Pedal Power, 12,037 points
  • Team with the most points, 3-6 staff: Islabikes, Inc. 5,277 points
  • Non-Binary rider with the most miles: Liz Johnson, 972 miles
  • Female rider with the most miles: Mary Maclachlan, 1,172 miles
  • Male rider with the most miles: Chuck Swanda, 2,843 miles
  • New Non-Binary rider with the most miles: Alison Buttafuoco, 258 miles
  • New Female rider with the most miles: Cheri Touchette, 645 miles
  • New Male rider with the most miles: Mike Engstrom, 1,071 miles
  • Top Encourager: Andrew Borel, 64 people

Last came the Team Captain of the Year award. Each year The Street Trust calls for nominations and it is always a tough decision as all of our team captains champion the program and get their teams involved. This year the award went to Sina Meier of Opsis Architecture. Sina motivated and supported new riders by providing gear to teammates who needed it. She also organized morning gatherings, rides throughout the day and even an office team to participate in Reach the Beach! As stated by one of her teammates, “Sina is a special type of leader, she leads from the back of the pack, encouraging others through her actions.” Sina’s passion and enthusiasm for biking resulted in 100% team participation. Nice work Sina!

Check out photos of the evening here.

Tags: , ,


No comments yet.